Mustafizur Rahman left out of report on collision with Mahendra Singh Dhoni

first_imgIt’s debatable whether Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s collision with Bangladesh pacer Mustafizur Rahman was intentional or not. But the fact that on-field umpires Enamul Haque of Bangladesh and Rod Tucker of Australia didn’t even mention the bowler’s role in the official report submitted to the match referee Andy Pycroft raises eye-brows.It is clear that Rahman had no reason to cross over to the other side of the pitch in his follow through because neither was the ball played towards that side, nor the leftarm pacer was bowling round the wicket that he ran into Dhoni as the latter was completing the single.While it is wrong to think that having a Bangladesh umpire on the field helped the debutant’s case, it is learnt that only after India skipper Dhoni explained his version of the whole episode did the match referee go ahead and ask Rahman to explain his side of the story. And it was the bowler himself who accepted that he was also at fault for standing in the way of Dhoni and the return crease.Initially only Dhoni was summoned by the match referee after his collision with Rahman on Thursday night was reported by the on-field umpires. But Dhoni pleaded innocence and explained the whole situation to the match referee and said that it was a case of either banging into partner Suresh Raina or stopping in his track to see the Bangladesh team run him out because Rahman was clearly in line with him. At that moment, Dhoni tried his best to minimise the impact and that is why he had lifted his elbow and had no wrong intention.advertisementThis is when the referee saw sense in what Dhoni was saying in his defense and checked the video footages and decided to get Rahman’s interpretation of the whole scene. And it was Rahman himself who agreed that he was at fault and walked across in his follow through without being aware of his position. He pleaded guilty. In the end, Dhoni was fined 75 per cent of his match fee and Rahman 50 per cent.Explaining the decision, match referee Pycroft said: “Dhoni defended the charge on the basis that the bowler was on the wrong line and realising that he couldn’t avoid the collision, he used his hand and arm to push him away as he went through to ‘minimise the impact’.”However, my assessment was that Dhoni deliberately pushed and shouldered Mustafizur, which was inappropriate. Even if there was a narrow gap between the runner and the bowler, an experienced Dhoni should have tried to avoid the collision. Mustafizur admitted his guilt and accepted the proposed sanction.”last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *